Bright and Early

I am a morning person – a definite rarity in college.  No matter how crazy this might sound, I actually enjoy getting up early.  Let me explain, ever since I was about eight years old, I’ve been up and about at around 6:00 a.m.  Growing up, I would determinedly set my alarm clock before I went to bed at night, and when it rang in the morning, I was up and ready to go – during the week, I went to school; on the weekends, I went to work.  I’d change into my barn clothes and out the door I’d go.  As I neared the barns, the calves would always greet me with a raucous symphony, impatient because they hadn’t been fed yet.  As I worked, the sun would slowly rise, bringing a warm, golden light to the world.  This is the time I loved the most.  I always felt like the sunrise was a beautiful secret between me and the world, which no one else was around to be a part of (not true, of course, if for nothing else but the very obvious fact that the rest of my family had been working long before I had even crawled out of bed). Everything was still and serene; so peaceful, for just a moment or two. And then a calf would bawl, calling me back to work.

As I’ve said, being a morning person is a definite rarity in college.  It seems as if most students are actually competing to see who can sleep the longest (an exaggeration, but you get the point). However, I still enjoy my early mornings – even if I have to tiptoe around in the dark to avoid waking my roommate and others around the hall.  The calm moments before the start of the day when the rest of the world is still sleeping are something I cherish, so I will keep waking up early (that, and the fact that after more than 10 years of early mornings, my internal clock has made it entirely impossible for me to sleep past 7:00 a.m., even if I wanted to). Good morning, and have a beautiful day!

5 thoughts on “Bright and Early

  1. deff glad i don’t have that issue… though i am proud and super happy to have the wonderful people like you farmers out there to do it. i deff tip my hat to you all.

  2. The farming life aside, this reminds me of my own “early riser” experience in college. I used to roll out of bad and grab my backpack and a hooded sweatshirt and be on my way to the dining hall (even though I went to a small liberal arts college, it wasn’t quite like RCAH, I had to walk across campus to the dining hall!). When I got there, I would find a booth in the corner (of an already nearly or completely empty dining hall) and read the newspaper or watch the news while eating oatmeal! 🙂 Once a morning person, always a morning person.

Leave a Reply

