The Swing of Things

The second half of my first year of college has officially begun, and I have discovered why, in high school, breaks are kept short. Getting back into the swing of things after a three week break is a challenge – I can no longer waste my days away doing chores and playing Mario Kart with my little sister. No, I’m back to the old grind – memorizing schedules, buying books, studying and taking notes, and keeping a detailed planner as if life as I know it depends on it (which to an extent it does).

Not that I mind. It is a challenge, yes, but I have always enjoyed learning. I’ve remarked before that if I could, I would be a professional student. Education is something I find very important and enjoyable – and if it isn’t too forward to say so, something I’ve been able to do quite well at (thus far, anyway). I like the feeling of knowing what is expected of me – everything I need to know is laid out neatly in the syllabus. It’s very comforting to have a schedule completely planned out ahead of time, probably because life doesn’t work that way. People are constantly planning things – from what to have for dinner to what lies in the future – only to have their meticulous and detailed plans change entirely due to some unforeseen event.

Right now, one of my friends is re-examining her own goals and ambitions as she debates whether or not to switch schools and majors. She’s anxious about the future – what if she doesn’t like her new school or major? What if she can’t find a job after college?
Her situation has made me take yet another (somewhat tedious) look at my intended career path. I have many of the same fears she does, fears I’m sure many other people have. When I get asked, “What are you going to do with that degree?” I don’t know what to tell people. I have hopes, dreams, and ambitions, but I am not privy to the knowledge of where exactly I will be. My liberal arts degree could take me almost anywhere to do almost anything.

When I think about the fact that we can’t know what will come tomorrow, in four, ten or 20 years, I think it really is astonishing that we try to plan anything at all, that we even have a “swing of things,” a “normal” schedule that we build our lives around. If you had asked me four years ago where I would be today, I would probably have said at Central Michigan University studying English. That was my plan then, but I am not the same person I was four years ago. Things have definitely changed, and I’m sure they will continue to do so. Therefore, my best plan of action is to trust in the Lord and follow my gut. I don’t know for sure where I’ll end up or what I’ll end up doing, but I’m determined to enjoy the adventure.

One thought on “The Swing of Things

  1. Ah, the million dollar question, right? Ironically enough, you answered it yourself just a few sentences after you posed it. When asked, say just that, “My liberal arts degree could take me almost anywhere to do almost anything.”

    I am a liberal arts grad as well, and I sure as heck wouldn’t have told you that I’d be doing what I am today during my first year of college. I would have told you I was going to be a high school band or history teacher. The next year I would have told you I was going to be in advertising. The following year I would have told you perhaps politics or law school. Finally, in my senior year of college (not until the spring semester), I would have told you that I would be an admissions counselor (via graduate school first).

    The beauty of your degree is that you are not being trained for one profession or one job… you’re not even being trained! You’re being educated, while also educating others in a sense too. That education will then lead you to take on nearly any “job”…. it will give you a life of choices, and a career of happiness!! — now, I know you know all of this, and I realize that I am preaching to the choir. But hey, I still had to say it, because it can never be said too much! 🙂 Keep doin’ what you’re doin, girl!

Leave a Reply

