Home

When I was in high school, I always said that once I was in college, I’d never go home. I had convinced myself that the Thumb of Michigan was a terrible place, and that there was nothing there for me. However, I will openly admit that I was wrong – very wrong. My family is what is there for me, and they are the most important thing in my life.

Growing up, I spent practically all of my time with my family. We lived together, ate together, and worked together. Most of the other kids never had that – their parents go away to work somewhere, all day, every day (however I will admit that trying to find somebody in a maze of barns when I needed them was indeed a challenge at times). Before I came to college, I never really stopped to think about how important having them so near was to me. In fact, sometimes I found it to be a downright annoyance. But now, my view has definitely changed. I value family time much more, because I don’t get it as often. When I come home, I simply want to just be at home. Over spring break, I would have been perfectly content to stay at home every single day and not leave (I didn’t, of course – grocery shopping, dinners with friends, and other obligations took up some family time, but that’s okay because I knew I was going home every night).

I guess I’m saying that it’s true that you don’t know what you have until it’s gone. So much has changed in my life in the last year that I find myself clinging onto the things I have left, my family being the most important one. I don’t mind change, but sometimes it’s nice when things simply stay the same. 🙂

Leave a Reply

