Priorities

If there has been one thing that working for a local weekly newspaper has taught me about, it has been prioritizing.  This is only the second week of my internship, and I’ve already realized the value of being able to decide which task is most or least important.  At times, I end up juggling several different stories at once, and other times I’m waiting for more than an hour to hear back from a source.  My day isn’t set in stone; it is constantly changing to fit other peoples’ schedules, which sometimes that means I come in at 8:00 a.m. and don’t leave until 5:30.

But don’t think I’m complaining. I am truly grateful to be working at The Huron County View this summer.  It means so much to me to be able to work in the field I am studying in.  I am learning so many valuable skills, prioritizing first among them, that I know I will use later on in college and in life.  At any rate, it sure beats making pizzas all summer – not, I might add, that there is anything wrong with that.  That is exactly what I would have been doing if I hadn’t been so blessed as to get a position at the paper.

In fact, what has helped me most along the way so far has been this blog.  I put Cows2College on my resume, and people have responded very positively, which totally blows my mind.  Growing up, I never kept a diary because I didn’t think people would ever find what I have to say interesting.  When I hear positive comments about my writing, it is truly and deeply appreciated.

So, in a very roundabout way, I’m going to leave another bit of advice for anybody who is listening: do something. Start a blog. Make a YouTube Channel or a Tumblr page. Do whatever you want, it doesn’t matter as long as you do something to show the world who you really are and how great that is.  Just do it – even if you think no one will ever read/see/care about it. It just might pay off.

3 thoughts on “Priorities

  1. Hi Kelsey, I am glad that you are enjoying your internship. Your articles are very interesting. Keep it up. Love to you, Grandma

  2. Kelsey, You are smart to recognize early in your career how important (and hard) it is to prioritize your work. It will only get more complicated, I am afraid, as your learn and grow in your career. Congrats on your internship; I hope you enjoy the experience.
    Aunt Diane

  3. Kelsey, I have read your complete blog (after reading about it in the view) and your writing is wonderfully honest, humorous, and entertaining. Some of it made me laugh out loud and others I had to bite my lip not to cry……… I am so proud of you and keep up the good work. Love, A. Pat

Leave a Reply

