In Person With George Ellenbogen

The RCAH Center for Poetry at MSU

By Kelsey Block

The RCAH Center for Poetry welcomed Canadian Poet and Memoirist George Ellenbogen to East Lansing last week. During his visit, Ellenbogen visited several classes, conducted workshops, and gave readings of his work.

Ellenbogen studied as an undergraduate at McGill University. He said he had begun working toward his Master of Arts degree when he realized his heart just wasn’t in it.

“I was bored out of my skull. I told my folks I was going to drop out of school, that I was going up to the arctic the next day and that I was going to become a poet,” Ellenbogen said. “I was up there for six months. I would work any job that paid. When I’d saved enough money, I’d quit, and write until I ran out of money.”

Ellenbogen said he eventually obtained his Master of Arts degree from Universite de Montreal. After he became a…

View original post 565 more words

2 thoughts on “In Person With George Ellenbogen

  1. Hi, Kelsey, I’ve been reading your articles. It sounds like you are busy
    and that is good. We are looking forward to Thanksgiving dinner. Love ,
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

