In Person with: Ann Pancake

The RCAH Center for Poetry at MSU

By Kelsey Block

“When I first start a piece, as a first draft, I usually start it because I have a voice in my head,” Ann Pancake, 50 said. “It’s like a rhythm; it’s so transcendent.”

The Romney, West Virginia native said she started writing as a child.

“My mom enforced naps I didn’t need, so I was already telling stories in my head,” she said.

Pancake said she does much of her writing in long-hand and that her favorite part about writing is the process.

“It’s almost like being on drugs, but in a clean way,” Pancake said. “I completely lose track of time.”

Pancake said that while writing short stories comes to her most naturally, she also enjoyed working on her novel, Strange as This Weather Has Been, which chronicles the effects of mountaintop removal on communities in West Virginia

“Finishing something so big was satisfying,” Pancake…

View original post 403 more words

Leave a Reply

